Dolmabahçe Palace was built by Sultan Abdülmecid (1839-1861), the thirty-first Ottoman sultan. The construction was started on June 13, 1843 and the palace was opened on June 7, 1856 with the completion of the surrounding walls.
The Dolmabahçe Palace was home to 6 sultans and the last Ottoman Caliph Abdülmecid Efendi from 1856 when it was opened to service, until 1924, when the caliphate was abolished.
Between 1927-1949 the Palace was used as the Presidency. Gazi Mustafa Kemal Ataturk, the founder of the Republic of Turkey, used the Dolmabahce Palace for his studies in İstanbul between the years 1927-1938 and died here in November 10th, 1938.
Dolmabahçe Palace, which was open to protocol and visit partially between 1926-1984, has been opened as a museum - palace since 1984.